Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dhoni helps India take a 2-1 lead

  1. #1
    SB Addict gobind's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Rep Power

    Thumbs up Dhoni helps India take a 2-1 lead

    Dhoni helps India take a 2-1 lead

    Mahendra Singh Dhoni

    Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni played another responsible knock of 46 not out as India took an unbeatable 2-1 lead in the series, winning the third One-day

    international by six wickets according to the Duckworth-Lewis (DL) Method with just one ball to spare here on a rain-marred Friday.

    India capitalised on a good start by openers Dinesh Karthik (47) and Gautam Gambhir (44) and Man of the Match Dhoni played a composed innings off 34

    balls as the visitors achieved the rain revised target of 159 in 22 overs at the Beausejour Stadium.

    India skipper opted to bowl but the start was delayed by over two hours due to rains and when the game started persistent rains interrupted the game thrice.

    Ramnaresh Sarwan's fine 62 off 59 balls went in vain even as West Indies

    made a challenging 186 for seven in 27 overs. But India were set a target of 195 according to the DL method.

    But another spell of shower in the 14th over during India's innings revised gave the target to 159 in 22 overs.

    However, it was the 84-run opening run stand that always kept India ahead of the run rate and Dhoni ensured that he stayed till the end as India

    scampered home to win in the penultimate ball. Dhoni's only six came in the

    last over and it reduced the equation to four from four balls that India achieved easily.

    Earlier, Sarwan's 62 lifted the West Indies to 186 in 27 overs in the rain-

    shortened match. Left-armer Ashish Nehra led India's bowling with 3-21 off five overs while Harbhajan Singh took 2-35.

    West Indies skipper Chris Gayle then blasted off six fours to score a quickfire 27 off 14 balls before he fell on the resumption of the game after the first spell of shower.

    Sarwan and Runako Morton (22) then stitched a 51-run stand for the second wicket before a fine piece of stumping by Dhoni off Harbhajan ended Morton's stay.

    Sarwan kept on playing his shots while Shiv Chanderpaul (15), Dwayne Bravo (14) and Darren Bravo (21) made valuable contributions. Denesh Ramdin

    remained unbeaten on 14 from six balls as the West Indies achieved the challenging total courtesy the Duckworth-Lewis Method.

    The fourth and the final ODI will be played here Sunday.

  2. #2
    SB Addict gobind's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Rep Power

    Thumbs up Scoreboard: India vs. West Indies, third ODI

    The following is the scoreboard of the match between India and the West

    Indies in the rain marred third One-day international of the four-match series at the Beausejor Stadium here Friday.

    West Indies innings: (27 overs maximum)

    Chris Gayle c Dhoni b Nehra 27 (14 balls)

    Runako Morton st Dhoni b Harbhajan 22 (34)

    Ramnaresh Sarwan run out (Gambhir/Dhoni) 62 (59)

    Shivnarine Chanderpaul c Nehra b Pathan 15 (14)

    Dwayne Bravo c Dhoni b Nehra 14 (19)

    Darren Bravo b Nehra 21 (15)

    Denesh Ramdin not out 14 (6)

    Jerome Taylor c Ishant b Harbhajan 1 (2)

    Extras (lb 7, w 2, nb 1) 10

    Total (seven wickets in 27 overs) 186

    Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Gayle, 3.4 overs), 2-78 (Morton, 12.3), 3-125

    (Chanderpaul, 18.3), 4-135 (Sarwan, 20.5), 5-170 (Darren, 25.1), 6-173

    (Dwayne, 25.6), 7-186 (Taylor, 26.6)


    Ishant Sharma 5-0-35-0

    Ashish Nehra 5-1-21-3

    Rudra Pratap Singh 5-0-34-0

    Harbhajan Singh 5-0-35-2

    Yuvraj Singh 2-0-19-0

    Rohit Sharma 1-0-7-0

    Yusuf Pathan 4-0-28-1


    Dinesh Karthik run out (Rampaul) 47 (43 balls)

    Gautam Gambhir c Ramdin b Benn 44 (38)

    Mahendra Singh Dhoni not out 46 (34)

    Yuvraj Singh c Darren b Bernard 2 (6)

    Rohit Sharma c Bernard b Dwayne 11 (9)

    Yusuf Pathan not out 1 (2)

    Extras (lb 4, w 3, nb 1) 8

    Total (for four wickets in 21.5 overs) 159

    Fall of wickets: 1-84 (Karthik, 12.1 overs), 2-108 (Gambhir, 15.1),

    3-117 (Yuvraj, 16.6), 4-148 (Rohit, 20.5)


    Jerome Taylor 3.5-0-39-0

    Ravi Rampaul 4-0-26-0

    Dwayne Bravo 4-0-27-1

    David Bernard 3-0-21-1

    Suleiman Benn 5-0-31-1

    Chris Gayle 2 0 11 0 5.50

    Toss: India, who chose to field

    Result: India won by six wickets (DL method), led the 4-match series 2-1

    Player of the match: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India)

  3. #3
    «╬♥ßÁÐ ßŐŶ Őℱ Śß♥╬« Major RS777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Tiger`s Den
    Rep Power


    ye hui na captain wali baat

Similar Threads

  1. Amazing Facts About Our India!!!
    By erazer in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 12:02 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-05-2009, 02:35 PM
  3. India reclaim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy!!
    By adirocksit in forum Sports
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14-11-2008, 11:33 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15-08-2007, 10:44 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts