Old is gold: Dravid recalled for Champions Trophy..!!

Rahul Dravid

The selectors finally took a step that clearly indicated that they were worried with India's batting following the T20 World Cup and the
West Indies series.

They have brought Rahul Dravid back into the fray for a spot in the ODI side by including him in the 30-member probables list for the Champions Trophy

, and if sources close to the selection committee are to be believed, it's not just for filling up the numbers.

The Indian batsmen's frailty against short-pitched bowling was there for

everyone to see during the T20 World Cup and the selectors believe some solidity is required in the middle-order.

Even though India won the series against the West Indies, the general belief among the decision makers is that it is all due to "one match winning effort (from Yuvraj)."

It was clearly indicated that Dravid would surely be considered when the final 15 was selected for the Champions Trophy. The veteran right-hander may

not fit into skipper MS Dhoni's scheme of things but given the recent performances of the Indian team, the selectors may well take a stern stance.

The fact that the Champions Trophy will be played in South Africa, where the pitches will afford steep bounce, has also gone in Dravid's favour. But will

there be a chance to see what kind of form Dravid is in before the final team is selected?

"Do we need to do that for a player of Dravid's stature? We know what he is capable of," the source shot back.

Another player who found himself out of favour was all-rounder Irfan Pathan.

By not picking him in the list of 30 probables, the selectors have indicated that they are looking ahead, at least for now.

Champions Trophy probables

MS Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir,

Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Abhishek Nayar,

Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Harbhajan Singh,

Pragyan Ojha, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Munaf Patel, R Ashwin, M

Vijay, Amit Mishra, Ajinkya Rahane, Dhawal Kulkarni, S Badrinath, Ashish

Nehra, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Singh, Wriddhiman Saha, Pankaj Singh.

Squad for Emerging Nations Trophy:

S Badrinath (Capt), M Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli (Vice-Capt), Manoj

Tiwary, Ishant Jaggi, Abhishek Nayar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Singh, R Ashwin,

Amit Mishra, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, Pankaj Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni,

Pradeep Sangwan, Sudeep Tyagi.