Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Champions League T20: Royal Challengers Bangalore to play Cape Cobras in opener ..!!

  1. #1
    SB Addict gobind's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Rep Power

    Thumbs up Champions League T20: Royal Challengers Bangalore to play Cape Cobras in opener ..!!

    Champions League T20: Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) to play Cape Cobras in opener ..!!

    Royal Challengers, Bangalore will lock horns with Cape Cobras, South Africa in

    the opening match of the 16-day $6 million prize money Champions League Twenty20 tournament at Bengaluru on October 8.

    Airtel would be the title sponsor of the tournament for five years. It signed the deal on Thursday with ESPN-STAR Sports, the commercial partner of

    Champions League T20. Reliable sources said the deal is worth Rs.170 crore. Airtel will also have the rights of on ground title sponsorship.

    The winner of the final to be played at Hyderabad on October 23 will receive $3 million. One team will be eliminated from League 1, leaving eight teams,

    split into two groups (called League A and B) to compete in League 2. The winner and runner-up from each of the two groups will advance into the semifinals.

    Retain seedings

    The teams that advance from League 1 to League 2 will maintain the position it held in League 1. For example Deccan Chargers is A1 in Group A and even

    should it finish second at the conclusion of League 1, it will still retain the A1 position in League 2. Teams will also carry points from League 1 to League 2.

    Lalit Modi, Chairman, Champions League Twenty20, said: “The Champions

    League Twenty20 is the perfect tournament to crown the best-of-the-best and will capture the imagination of the sporting public around the world.

    “It is set to provide domestic cricketers with the ultimate talent showcase, one which I am certain will inspire and motivate future generations of club,

    State and county cricketers, while accelerating the development of the game globally and the careers of those involved.”

    “Cricket fans across Australia and the world are indeed eagerly awaiting the inaugural edition of the Champions League Twenty20. The CLT20 is set to

    build on the success of the KFC Big Bash Twenty20 competition in Australia,” said James Sutherland, Chief Executive Officer, Cricket Australia.

    “I am certain that the CLT20 will undoubtedly benefit inter-state cricket in Australia and equivalent levels elsewhere, giving players at that level a

    chance to hone and perfect their cricketing skills when they come up against the best domestic cricketers from around the world,” added Sutherland.

    Attract global audience

    Gerald Majola, Chief Executive, Cricket South Africa, said: "The Champions League Twenty20 will electrify global audiences come October, and South

    African fans will definitely follow their favourite Pro T20 and IPL teams after the success of Season 2009.

    “I am certain that CLT20 will encourage the pipeline of cricket development from the club, affiliate and franchise levels through to the international

    arenas. I am sure the global broadcast of the Champions League Twenty20 will ignite the passion of cricket lovers the world over."

    The Groupings:

    Group ‘A’: A1: Deccan Chargers (India), A2: England-2, A3: Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies). Group ‘B’: B1: New South Wales Blues (Australia), B2:

    Diamond Eagles (South Africa), B3: England-1. Group ‘C’: C1: Royal Challengers, Bangalore, C2: Cape Cobras (South Africa), C3: Otago Volts

    (New Zealand). Group ‘D’: D1: Delhi Daredevils, D2: Victorian Bushrangers (Australia), D3: Wayamba (Sri Lanka).

    The schedule:

    League 1: Oct. 8: RCB v CC, Bengaluru, 8 p.m.; Oct. 9: NSW v DE, 4 p.m. & DD v VB, 8 p.m., New Delhi; Oct. 10: CC v OV, 4 p.m. & DC v ECB-2, 8 p.m.,

    Hyderabad; Oct. 11: NSW v ECB-1, 4 p.m. & DD v WY, 8 p.m., New Delhi; Oct.12: TT v ECB-2, 4 p.m. & RCB v OV, 8 p.m., Bengaluru; Oct. 13: VB v

    WY, 4 p.m. & DE v ECB-1, 8 p.m., New Delhi; Oct.14: DC v TT, 8 p.m., Hyderabad

    League 2: Oct. 15: C1 v D2, 8 p.m., Bengaluru; Oct. 16: A2 v B2, 4 p.m. & A1 v B1, 8 p.m., Hyderabad; Oct. 17: C2 v D2, 4 p.m. & C1 v D1, 8 p.m.,

    Bengaluru; Oct. 18: A2 v B1, 4 p.m. & A1 v B2, 8 p.m., Hyderabad; Oct. 19: C2 v D1, 8 p.m., New Delhi.

    Semifinals: Oct. 21: First semifinal: Winner League B v Runner-up League A, 8

    p.m., Delhi; Oct. 22: Second semifinal: Winner League A v Runner-up League B, 8 p.m., Hyderabad.

    Final: Oct. 23: Hyderabad, 8 p.m.

    Note: Abbreviations: DC: Deccan Chargers, ECB-2: England-2, TT: Trinidad & Tobago, NSW: New South Wales Blues, DE: Diamond Eagles, ECB-1: England-1

    , RCB: Royal Challengers, Bangalore, CC: Cape Cobras, OV: Otago Volts, DD: Delhi Daredevils, VB: Victorian Bushrangers, WY: Wayamba .

  2. #2
    Being Human..... Colonel awaiz.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Rep Power


    thanx buddy................

  3. #3
    Let's Kill Enemies Field Marshal sweetooo.baba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Gujranwala Cantt,Pakistan
    Rep Power


    thanks for sharing..........
    Best Line Written in front of a masjid in New york

    ''Always believe in God,bcoz some questions in grave that cannot be answered by Google''

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 29-04-2014, 02:33 PM
  2. McCullum in demand for Champions League
    By sweetooo.baba in forum Sports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-05-2009, 02:05 PM
  3. IPL kick-off on April 10
    By gobind in forum Sports
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-02-2009, 03:51 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 08:24 PM
  5. Can his TITLE
    By iqqu1994 in forum Sports
    Replies: 87
    Last Post: 17-11-2007, 01:48 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts