Thread: Issue with parents: unwanted guests of parents

Unregistered

Post Issue with parents: unwanted guests of parents

Hi,

I'm really frustrated because my house has become a refugee camp. At least once a month, my parents will have their friends (and often their friend's friends) from other countries coming over to stay at our small flat for a few days (to a week).

Those visitors are often noisy and occupy the limited space in our tiny flat. I'm still studying and technically not even of legal age yet. I can't possibly find another place to stay. I find it difficult to study at home and finish my work when we have guests around. And studying outside is not an option either because I can't concentrate when I'm around people.

My parents know that I do not like having guests around but they simply do not care or can't be bothered to do anything about it.

I know it seems rude and probably selfish of me but I really do want to get rid of them. So what should I do? The only possible solution is to move out but I can only do so in a few years after I'm done with school and have gotten a job.

I'm just feel so frustrated. Any solutions? I would like to think that I'm quite open to any suggestions.

From,
    Frustrated girl

Moderator Lieutenant General Preeto Maam's Avatar

Well, its a situation all right. there are many families who love to welcome guests and that's not a bad thing really, because it is a part of Indian culture to welcome people. however, things have changed and so have the needs of the families, and I can understand that you would be needing time and space to study.
    There's nothing else you can do but to sit your parents down and ask them for some time out from the guests. Say exactly what you have said here- that you are actually wanting to move out of your house because they are not being able to get their priorities right. Explaining and convincing them is actually the only way out, you know.