India captain Sardar Singh has been nominated by the Hockey India for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

According to a statement issued by the national federation, Sardar's name was recommended by the Hockey Award Recommendations Committee.

Sardar has been the captain of national men's hockey team since November 2012 and under his leadership, India reached the semi-finals of last year's FIH Champions Trophy in Melbourne after a period of 30 years.

Sardar-led team also won the silver medal in the second men's Asian Champions Trophy in Doha last year.

He was recently declared Asian Hockey Federation Player of the Year 2011. He was also a part of the FIH World Star Team in 2010 and 2011, and was nominated for FIH Player of the Year last year.

Apart from Sardar, HI has nominated the names of Danish Mujtaba, V R Raghunath, Tushar Khandekar and former skipper Bharat Chetri for the Arjuna Award in the men's category.

Among women players who have been recommended for this year's Arjuna Award are captain of the Indian women's hockey team Ritu Rani, former skipper Saba Anjum and defender Joydeep Kaur.

HI has also recommended Olympian Syed Ali's name for Dhyanchand Lifetime Achievement Award.