Thread: Marrying much younger person.

Unregistered

Default Marrying much younger person.

Hi,

I come from a middle classed family from southindia. I am a graduate, i have a job and I get ok ok salary, just about meeting my expenses.
    My mother wants me to marry a traditional girl who is 12 years younger to me. she is 18. I am 30. the girl has studied 10+2 and stopped after.
    My mother feels that we know the girl from childhood and she is very well natured/decent and will take care of my family and me very well. I agree with her on that aspect.
    I told her all my friends will laugh as 12 years gap is big and she says my parents are also 12 years apart and there was no problem... the girls family also likes me.. and the girl is also aware since childhood that both families are thinking about our possible match.... she also likes me.

Is age a big problem(my opinion on this is 50-50).... is it worth confronting parents and doing arranged marriage outside and taking a risk of not getting a adjustable partner, who might not care about my parents.... also note that my earnings are not that great.

Moderator Lieutenant General Preeto Maam's Avatar

Well, I'm not sure as to how to respond to this query because I would like to see every girl being independent and educated and contributing to her own growth as well as that the family's. The age difference is large but not disturbing because of the reasons that you are saying, but because you have to question if a girl that young is ready for marriage? what are her options? If you do get married to her, will you take the responsibility of nurturing a very young person- empowering her? will you be able to respect her needs and fears?
    Think about all of that and then see what decision you have to take. Its not just about you, but also about that very young person, whose parents want to get married off.

Banned Major General

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    Hi,