Four Indian players made the side, including Dhoni, with two from South Africa and the West Indies, and one representative each from Australia and the Netherlands besides champions Sri Lanka.

Paceman Lasith Malinga is the only member of Sri Lanka's World Twenty20-winning side to earn a place in team, which is dominated by Indian players.
Sri Lanka broke a finals-losing jinx to lift a maiden World Twenty20 title on Sunday after a comfortable six-wicket victory over 2007 champions India.
However, only the blond-mopped Malinga, who led the side after Dinesh Chandimal opted to keep himself out of the starting line-up, made the ICC team named on Monday.
"It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament," former Australia batsman David Boon, the chairman of the ICC selection panel, said.
"As the selection criteria for the team of the tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team.
"Bowlers, in particular, performed strongly throughout this tournament and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree and Lasith Malinga."
The panel faced a difficult choice for a number of positions, and players who were considered but who did not ultimately make the team included India’s Amit Mishra, Pakistan’s Ahmed Shehzad, the
South Africa duo of AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir, Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews and Rangana Herath, and West Indies’ Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine.

Check out the team:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India - captain)

Matches: 6
Runs: 50
Avg: 50.00
S/R: 125.00
50s: 0

Rohit Sharma (India)
Matches: 6
Runs: 200
Avg: 40.00
S/R: 123.45
50s: 2

Stephan Myburgh (Netherlands)

Matches: 7
Runs: 224
Avg: 32.00
S/R: 154.48
50s: 3

Virat Kohli (India)

Matches: 6
Runs: 319
Avg: 106.33
S/R: 129.14
50s: 4

JP Duminy (South Africa)

Matches: 6
Runs: 200
Avg: 40.00
S/R: 123.45
50s: 2

Glenn Maxwell (Australia)

Matches: 5
Runs: 187
Avg: 62.33
S/R: 140.60
50s: 1
Wickets: 1
Econ: 8.00

Darren Sammy (West Indies)

Matches: 5
Runs: 101
Avg: 101.00
S/R: 224.44
50s: 0

Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

Matches: 6
Overs: 23.1
Wickets: 11
S/R: 12.6
Econ: 5.35
Best: 4-11
4WI: 1

Dale Steyn (South Africa)

Matches: 5
Overs: 19.1
Wickets: 9
S/R: 12.7
Econ: 7.98
Best: 4-17

Samuel Badree (West Indies)

Matches: 5
Overs: 20
Wickets: 11
S/R: 10.9
Econ: 5.65
Best: 4-15
4WI: 1

Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

Matches: 6
Overs: 18
Wickets: 5
S/R: 21.6
Econ: 6.11
Best: 2-5
4WI: 0

Krishmar Santokie (West Indies, 12th player)

Matches: 5
Overs: 18.5
Wickets: 8
S/R: 14.1
Econ: 6.84
Best: 3-17