Thread: Extremely successful relatives

Mohit Goyal

Angry Extremely successful relatives

Hello ma'am
    I have been living in a strange dilemma for many years. I am a male (26) from Kutch. I come from a family where my cousins are well educated and well settled. One of my cousins is an IIT Graduate and works in the US. Another one is an MBA from a reputed institute in Gujarat and is an AVP in a reputed bank. My niece has just started working in Infosys. One of my cousins is working as a Technical lead in a leading IT company and other cousins also belong to more or less in the same field. So naturally my parents had a lot of expectations from me. I was an above average student till my 12th and scored 69.83% marks. After that I did my graduation from Baroda where I didn't do well. After that I did my PGDM from a local institute (not so well renowned as compared to my cousins' institutes). I was working for a leading Pipes, Towels manufacturing company till last February and quit to pursue my dream of working in Public Sector banks for which I am appearing in upcoming banking exams. Now my problem is, looking at my cousins'/niece's careers and the institutes from which they have completed their education, I feel a lot inferior in terms of MY education and career choice. I am constantly getting this thought that I am far inferior to them as I am not at par with them. As a result, I have stopped interacting with them thinking that they would neglect me every now and then and would not consider me in their company. I constantly think that compared to them, I have not fulfilled my parents' expectation. I think that my uncles and aunts and cousins would think that I am the black sheep of the family whenever I meet them. I always feel inferior and am pushing myself too hard to prove that I am something to them. I know they are, no one to prove them and should be myself, but these thoughts I am not able to divert. Please, need your assistance. What should be my thought pr